Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] I'm new to all of this, and feeling a little overwhelmed. Facing 2 issues right now.
I'm new to all of this, and feeling a little overwhelmed. Facing 2 issues right now.
Hi, everybody! I guess I'll give a little background before getting into my questions, but let me start by saying I'm really glad to have found this community.

So for maybe the past 10 years or so, I've dealt with daily fatigue. The fatigue and constant tired feeling have gotten worse with a lack of focus, making it harder to enjoy my hobbies such as reading or watching shows that require my attention. I've been married almost three years now, and my wife has mentioned I snore (but that it doesn't bother her). I also feel like I deal with pretty consistent nasal congestion, mainly at night after I've been in bed for a bit, which causes me to mouth breathe (I've tried decongestants and nasal spray, and Flonase seems to be what helps the best, though it's not perfect).

This past February my best friend stayed with us on my birthday, and we slept in the same room. When I woke up, he told me he thought I should get checked out because he didn't sleep well and my multiple times throughout the night he noticed I stopped breathing. As naive as it may sound, this was when everything started coming together for me and I realized I probably have sleep apnea.

I wrestled with what to do for a while. I don't have health insurance, and we really couldn't afford a sleep study. We've got 4 kids at home and my wife and I both work in the preschool setting, so we don't make a lot and I don't have any benefits. When taxes rolled around, that seems like the only time I could maybe sneak in and do something about this.