Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How often to replace mask, hose, etc.
How often to replace mask, hose, etc.
Hi, new to the board. I have been using my Resmed 10 for about 10 months. It helps the Apnea but sometimes it interrupts my sleep with noisy leaks.
My question is about replacement. My supplier thinks I should replace the mask (full mask with memory foam cushion) every month, and the hoses and other parts every 90 days. Is this schedule needed? 
Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How often to replace mask, hose, etc.
If you're using a silicone mask then you can wash it w/ dish soap and be fine for 6 months - 1 year.

This cycle you quote is setup to make durable medical equipment providers profit and not a benefit to you. The supplies I go through most frequently are the head gear as they stretch out and the air filters for the machines.
Post Reply Post Reply
Cleaning and replacement schedules are a personal choice. Some do it on their insurance schedule, others have their own.

I use things until I notice a change for the worse. My heated hose is 4 years old, my nasal pillows are about a year old, my full-face mask is about a year old, headgear is about 6 months old, my water chamber is the original from when I got my machine 5 years ago. The only thing I change often is the filter due to my allergies.

I have washed my hose maybe 2-3 times in 4+ years, masks get wiped down daily with baby bum wipes when used and washed maybe twice a year, water chamber maybe every twice a year as I use homemade distilled water, headgear never washed just replaced. If I notice anything that looks grungy, I wash it.
Post Reply Post Reply