Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] Central Apneas and Periodic Breathing
Central Apneas and Periodic Breathing
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to CPAP, but I feel like I've had Sleep Apnea for a while.

2 months ago I had a sleep study and was diagnosed with moderate sleep apnea (24 AHI).

I've had mixed results with my CPAP usage but still frequently wake up every night and don't feel well rested in the morning.
My monthly AHI results vary between 1.7 to 11.7.

My recent OSCAR results have been predominantly or exclusively Central Apneas and the shape is making me worried that I have CSR happening, at the very least periodic breathing.
The average period length between apneas is 30 to 35 seconds.

My results are always worse when on my back, I also feel I may be chin tucking while I sleep.
I sometimes get the feeling I'm breathing shallow or not exhaling while falling asleep and sometime get this feeling while awake but overly sleepy the next day.

My sleep doctor did not give me any detailed results so I'm not sure if the sleep study showed OSA, CSA or complex.
My next sleep appointment isn't until December but was hoping for some input on my results to see if I need to chase a faster appointment time.

Thanks in advance.

Pat

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Central Apneas and Periodic Breathing
Welcome! That rash of CAs doesn't look at all like CSR to me. The tops and bottoms of the flow rate patterns for CSR have a sinusoidal shape to them, and the time interval for waxing plus waning is generally around one minute.