Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Drowning sensation?
RE: Drowning sensation?
This may be true as I get this wheezing and feelings of drowning with my COPD/Asthma diagnosis. I take inhalers daily with a rescue inhaler traveling everywhere I go. I also have a home nebulizer that is used as needed.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
I am relatively new to PAP therapy, but I started with nose pillows, as is the typical recommendation. I found that though I had a good seal, I wasn't really getting results and found myself waking up some nights feeling really starved for air, almost suffocating rather than drowning, it was NOT a nice feeling. I realized within 2-3 weeks that I actually have fairly chronic sinusitis. What feels normal and good for me is in fact not really very good, I just didn't know how bad it was until I started using my nose for PAP therapy.

I had to switch to a full face since I just couldn't pull the volume through my nose with the nose pillows. I'm working to remedy my nasal issues but in the meantime I am stuck with a full face. Sounds a little similar to what you experienced, but once I woke up and took the mask off things went back to normal pretty quickly.