Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Aerophagia help
Aerophagia help
Hello,
I have been using a CPAP machine for about 4 years. In the last year aerophagia has got worse. I've tried adjusting my pressures to no avail. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Aerophagia help
I have and still do struggle with aerophagia a bit.  Several things can help.  
1.  I see some large leaks that increase your pressure.   Mask Primer  This may help decrease them. 
2.  Usually decreasing pressure helps decrease aerophagia.  BUT, that needs to be balanced against performance (AHI, etc.).  
3.  I see some hypopnea and other clusters in your chart.  Possibly using a soft cervical collar could reduce these and keep your pressure and aerophagia down more.  I wear one every night.  
4.  CPAP since March 22, still dealing with aerophagia, wakings, and heart rate problems 1 2 )

manacles[url=http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php?title=Mask_Primer][/url]
This thread has a unique solution that worked for this member.  I tried this, but it did not work for me personally.  I am currently at 10 max epap and 20 to 22 for ipap (PS).  I may try to raise my epap significantly so less ipap and see if that helps decrease aerophagia.  

Lots of things to try.  There is the possibility something has happened to your esophageal sphincters over time as you have aged.  GERD can affect this.  Something neurological can also for example.  
Download OSCAR
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Files

Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.