Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Trouble staying asleep with CPAP
Trouble staying asleep with CPAP
Hi! CPAP newbie here, it's been about a month since I received my diagnosis of severe OSA (AHI 77). The first few weeks were very tough as I battled anxiety and fear of suffocation when using the CPAP. At first I would panic after having the machine on for a couple minutes, now I have gradually been able to increase my usage to the point where I can last 1-3 hours at a time, but I am not sleeping much in those periods. Usually I give up around 2-3am, sleep without CPAP for a few hours, and then put it back on for an hour or two in the early morning. I just recently downloaded Oscar to try to see if I can determine what is causing me to wake frequently and remove the CPAP. It looks like I tend to have clusters of CA's when trying to fall asleep, and I've had mostly CA's since getting the CPAP with little OA's showing up on my data. During my sleep study I did have a few CA's and a few central hypopnea's as well, but the majority of my apneas were obstructive.