Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Months of CPAP use and feeling more fatigued
Months of CPAP use and feeling more fatigued
Hey all! I've been using my CPAP for over 8 months now and I've gotten quite used to using it daily.

For context, I have this separate sleep disorder called Idiopathic Hypersomnia for which I'm taking this FDA-approved medication called Xywav. Xywav has not provided me with any symptom relief at all, which is extremely rare when you read about other people's experiences.

I'm suspecting that maybe my CPAP is still causing me to wake up throughout the night and I want to see if there's anything I can improve. My AHI looks fine, but I noticed that I'm still leaking considerably.

Thanks for your help!

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Months of CPAP use and feeling more fatigued
One the top set of charts you had some positional apnea.  You can see positional apnea where either H or Oa events are clustered together.  Getting rid of as many as you can will lower your AHI.  Positional apnea can NOT be controlled by pressure changes.  You have to find out what position you are getting into and cutting off your own airway.  Have you changed your sleep position?  Sleeping on your back?  Using more (or new) pillows?  These things can cause positional apnea by chin dropping to your sternum and cutting your airway.  Think of it of a kinked hose – nothing can get through – you have to unkink the hose…   Because this was not shown on the other nights, it is something to keep track of and make changes when you see it.