Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Help w/ Oscar Data (recent mask switch)
Question 
Help w/ Oscar Data (recent mask switch)
Hi, I've been using Auto CPAP for 12 yrs and I recently switched to a full face mask (the F&P Evora) from a nasal pillows mask (the full face being considerably more comfortable for me) and my AHI has increased above the thearapeutic level of 5 most nights. 

In my research I learned that I probably needed to increase pressure, and while I've done that, it doesn't seem to be helping much. Before the switch my pressure settings were Min: 6 and Max: 14. Right now I'm all the way up at 11.5 and 20.

I can't seem to figure out what's going on and I'm hoping someone more experienced with the OSCAR data can have a look and let me know their thoughts. Thanks so much!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Help w/ Oscar Data (recent mask switch)
You are having some positional apnea.  You can see positional apnea where either H or Oa events are clustered together.  Getting rid of as many as you can will lower your AHI.  Positional apnea can NOT be controlled by pressure changes.  You have to find out what position you are getting into and cutting off your own airway.  Have you changed your sleep position?  Sleeping on your back?  Using more (or new) pillows?  These things can cause positional apnea by chin dropping to your sternum and cutting your airway.  Think of it of a kinked hose – nothing can get through – you have to unkink the hose…