Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Initial impression of basic nasal mask exploring possible alternatives
Initial impression of basic nasal mask exploring possible alternatives
Hello

I am only beginning the process getting used to a CPAC device. I have a back condition which requires that I sleep on my stomach as much as possible. Inevitably I cannot sleep in any position without waking and having to adjust. Most frequently I sleep on my stomach. That is the most problematic when wearing any CPAC mask. I have only tried the basic nasal mask and imagine it only becomes more bulk to deal with if switching to alternative mask styles.

I discovered that sleeping on my back or at least on my side with my face tilted out and away from the pillow is better when wearing a mask. I can only do this sometimes. On days when my back is particularly sore I must sleep on my stomach and it is unbearable even briefly on my back or side. 

However, the air pressure from the CPAC machine flows out my mouth ever since my body realized all I have to do is open my mouth to relieve the unnatural flow of air which the CPAC device produces. As soon as I discovered this my mouth ends up opening and this seems to work counter to benefits of the CPAC device. The point is not to have air going in through your nose only to be immediately vented out your mouth. The air should be getting into your lungs and vented through your nose. Your mouth needs to be bypassed to avoid snoring. 

Is this a common experience shared by most people using a CPAC device and how have you adjusted and accommodated it? I am considering a mask which includes the mouth. Before I try that I am wondering about people who have already been down this path.
Post Reply Post Reply