Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Mouth leak while using full face mask
Mouth leak while using full face mask
I’ve been using a cpap for several years and only recently started experiencing an issue where, when I open my mouth while wearing a full face mask, I have a moderate mouth leak. It’s not a “blow your mouth open” leak, but it’s noticeable, uncomfortable, and is showing up as a leak in the MyAir app at least (I know I’m supposed to do Oscar but I never had the need to). 

Has anyone experienced something similar?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mouth leak while using full face mask
Mouth breathing or air leaking from an open mouth while wearing a full face mask isn't preferable, but should not be showing up as a leak on MyAir.

Your mask may be moving or shifting as you move in your sleep and thus causes an air leak.

Also, consider the age of the mask cushion. It may need to be changed.

I don't use a full face mask, but I know many here use mouth tape with their FF masks.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com

Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy
OSCAR supported machines
Mask Primer

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE.  ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.  INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply