Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[CPAP] New to therapy and CPAP, Aerophagia issue - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [CPAP] New to therapy and CPAP, Aerophagia issue (/Thread-CPAP-New-to-therapy-and-CPAP-Aerophagia-issue)

Pages: 1 2

New to therapy and CPAP, Aerophagia issue - Aplar - 07-04-2024

Hi there,

As the title says, I am new to CPAP and the therapy to combat my sleep apnoea issues.

Results so far:
  • Better time waking up
  • Throughout the day, a bit/not much difference
  • No real issues sleeping with the mask on (not waking up in the night, sleeping through the night, and no leaks)
Problem:
  • Bloating and gas in the morning (aerophagia)
  • Stomach pain to the point I would wake up at night and feel super bloated (fall asleep right after)
  • Extreme gas in the morning
After the first night, I increased my lower pressure and set the EPR level to max (3). The next night, I noticed a slight improvement in terms of aerophagia - the bloating wasn't as noticeable, but the extreme gas persisted.

After increasing EPR, I also noticed that my AHI score went up a little bit, and CA events increased as well. I was worried about the CA events but read that they are fairly common for new CPAP users while the body adjusts for the first couple of weeks. I also slept a fair bit longer so this could change everything a bit. I still wonder if the increase in AHI and CA events is related to my EPR adjustment, although it seemed to help a bit with aerophagia.

Additional info:
  • At night, I was a mouth breather and drooling a lot pre-therapy (never mouth breathing during the day).
  • CPAP helped me with this; my allergies/nose are much better through the night, helping me breathe through my nose only.