Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
New to CPAP - Aerophagia? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: New to CPAP - Aerophagia? (/Thread-New-to-CPAP-Aerophagia)

New to CPAP - Aerophagia? - LFS9000 - 10-01-2024

I am very new to apnea treatment - first CPAP use was August 8. Overall, I am a lucky person who took to the CPAP very easily and experienced immediate benefits in terms of energy, cognition, etc. I struggled with finding a mask that didn't leak like crazy but also didn't destroy my nose in one way or another and eventually landed on the Philips Dreamwear Nasal Cushion. Since I started using this mask all my "basic" stats have been perfect - 100 score on myAir every night. But, I am experiencing stomach pain every morning - sometimes it's extreme. I am thinking this is due to aerophagia and am wondering if it looks like adjusting my pressure could be a good idea.

If I didn't include something necessary let me know, I'm new at this. Appreciate any help anyone can offer.

RE: New to CPAP - Aerophagia? - G. Szabo - 10-01-2024

(Yesterday, 12:38 PM)LFS9000 Wrote: I am thinking this is due to aerophagia and am wondering if it looks like adjusting my pressure could be a good idea.

Higher EPR mitigates aerophagia, so you can try EPR=3, full time. 
As for the pressure, you might be better with a pressure max of 12 cm and a ramp-off setting.

RE: New to CPAP - Aerophagia? - LFS9000 - 10-01-2024

(Yesterday, 03:57 PM)G. Szabo Wrote: Higher EPR mitigates aerophagia, so you can try EPR=3, full time. 
As for the pressure, you might be better with a pressure max of 12 cm and a ramp-off setting.

Thank you!

RE: New to CPAP - Aerophagia? - cyberfiche - 10-01-2024