Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Questions for newly diagnosed
RE: Questions for newly diagnosed
(03-27-2024, 08:52 PM)OttSteve Wrote: The lab is better, but it's a bit of an ordeal.  I went to the lab, where they put me in a gurney, covered me with sensors and seemingly miles of wires and then said go to sleep, all while watching me on CCTV.  I think I finally fell asleep at about 4 AM, just before I was about to leave.  The doc did get a good 45 minutes of data, which was more than enough for diagnosis. 

I wouldn't worry about the accuracy of your test. With the data from your loaner trial, the input of the provider and this forum, you should be in good shape.

Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
(03-27-2024, 04:28 PM)MaskedOne Wrote: Welcome to the forum.

I'm relatively new to PAP therapy and scored a 17 AHI on my sleep test.  I'm in my 60s and tiredness began to settle in on me in my mid-50s. I marked it down as the onset of old age. Coincidentally, my wife's complaints about my snoring also began.  I had no knowledge about apneas, obstructed sleep, or PAP therapy back then.  I took the sleep test at my wife's urging and when it came back "moderate" I felt it proved that I was sleeping fine.  As I researched the sleep test results in detail, and considered what they meant, especially in the long term, it began to dawn on me that I had a serious problem.

I began PAP therapy with a lot of skepticism, reassuring myself I could toss it all in a yard sale box if (when) it proved unnecessary.  
On the first night, I was so quiet my wife stayed in bed with me all night and has stayed ever since.
Within 2 weeks, I felt more rested: I was not falling asleep every time I sat still for a while.