Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Sudden Change in Results
Sudden Change in Results
            Hello. If anyone can help I'd appreciate any input on a sudden change in my recent therapy results. I have been using my machine for 5-6 months. I have no problems with compliance and results were good up until recently (average AHI about 1.3). My sleep test was 5.8 AHI, 15.8 RDI after adding in RERA. I was diagnosed with OSA as most of my events during sleep study were obstructive hypopneas and RERA. The only apnea during my sleep study was central.  During use of my machine nearly all events have been classed as central apneas. My doctor said not to worry about them at that level. Recently, however, they have increased substantially and last night was AHI 13.8, virtually all shown as central apneas. My doctor reduced EPR from 3 to 1 two nights ago as a result of the increasing trend but last night was my worst result yet. I wore a pulse oximeter and my oxygen was dropping rapidly from 98 by 8 points to usually around 90 and then recovering after a minute or two after waking. My thoughts are whether this is positional because I could not feel air from the machine unless I lifted my head stretching my neck fully and holding it above the pillow (a cpap pillow on a wedge one) and holding it c 45 degrees. I was having large hypnic jerks even at times when my stats looked fine - I guess my body just didnt want to let me sleep. My pressure range has been 5-8 but often the machine seemed to be operating at the low end of that.

I have managed to download Oscar and have attached a screenshot (i couldnt quite get the snore part to show). I hope this helps and would be grateful for any input.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Sudden Change in Results