Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New to CPAP and getting aerophagia
New to CPAP and getting aerophagia
Hey guys this is my first time posting here.  Also new to cpap. Ive only had resmed10 a week now.  first day i couldn't  use it as it was set to APAP 4-20 and was just struggling with breathing (both in and out). I immediately changed to low levels like 4-6 to get used to it but only like 30 min - 2hr a night.  The more I try to use it the more sleep deprived Ive been but thats probably a me problem.  

Ive had improvement with APAP 6-10 with EPR 1 last night and was able to wear the mask over 4 hours (sleeping at most half the time worn), but breathing with the mask is relatively comfortable now. Thing is, 2 nights now since going over 7 pressure Im getting aerophagia.  burping and farting (mostly the latter) all night into the morning. i dont think i should go to lower pressure as thats probably not enough air?  But I have IBS and all the air in my gut is uncomfortable during the night and making me sick the next morning.  not sure what to do.  Considered VCOM but found out its not appropriate for low preure levels or EPR.   Im including oscar images wondering if maybe someone can take a look and give some advice.  Thanks

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New to CPAP and getting aerophagia
I would try min 7. EPR 3 for a night and see if that helps. Is should calm down the fluxulation of pressure.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply
I understand that aerophagia usually goes away as the body adjusts to the cpap. In the meantime, here are some remedies that may help you:

1. Good old Gas-EX before bed.