Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Unable to keep mask throughout night
Unable to keep mask throughout night
I've been using a CPAP since April of 2023, but have been unable to wear it throughout the night. I have used OSCAR to set the pressure range to a level that hat feels comfortable for me and a later titration study backs this up. I have attached my OSCAR readings below any thought on what might be causing this? 

Some Background on myself:
My sleep troubles began in late 2022, primarily characterized by frequent awakenings to drink water during the night. I went to my Primary care physician, who referred me for a sleep study which I got in January of 2023. Although I had difficulties sleeping in the sleep study and the study was not able record my rem sleep and I was recommended to consider a autopap this was in April of 2023. Since then I have been trying to wear the CPAP all night but always wake up and take the mask off - often unconsciously. In December of 2023 I got a titration study with a suggested range of 8-9 cm of H2O but I still have not been able to use a CPAP a full night.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Unable to keep mask throughout night
It looks like you did a bang-up job find excellent settings to treat your apnoea. I see nothing I would suggest changing. Regarding taking the mask off, it may take you a bit more time to adjust, but it is not a settings issue. You have to get in the right mindset to keep it on no matter what, but don’t beat yourself up if you take it off. It takes some longer than others to get comfortable with things.