Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

nk3125 - Therapy Thread
nk3125 - Therapy Thread
Hi everyone,

I was recently diagnosed with mild OSA based on a WatchPAT sleep study (pAHI 3%=2.4, pRDI=11.6, pAHIc 3%=1.5, no CSR, supine RDI=14.1, non-supine RDI=8.5). I believe this would fall into the category of UARS. I was prescribed APAP 4-20cm and got an AirSense 10 AutoSet a couple of weeks ago. After a bit of a rough start with masks, I finally found the N30i seems to work well for me (knock on wood).

I am a 32 year old male with previous diagnosis of a deviated septum and large turbinates. I currently take Flonase and Astepro to help mitigate nasal congestion. I had a previous history with migraines, but I've been using Breathe Right strips for the last 10 years, which has eliminated most of my headache symptoms. I initially sought out a sleep study due to excess tiredness during the day. 

Now, I'm looking to optimize my therapy a bit. Since my AHI wasn't high to begin with (and my understanding is that these machines don't flag RERAs accurately), I think I need to be optimizing around flow limitations and reducing arousals. I've attached the six recommended OSCAR graphs below from last night.

My reported flow limitations seem low (0.01 95%), but I'm noticing a lot of areas where the inhalation phase is a bit bumpy or plateaus and the machine isn't tagging that as a flow limitation.

A few questions I had looking through my own data:

1. Should I worry much about areas of apparent flow limitation if the machine isn't flagging it as flow limitation?
  2. Can the choice of mask impact flow limitations? I noticed many more flow limitations being tagged by the machine when using the N20 compared to either the P30i or the N30i that I'm using currently.