Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Hoping to find a fix for my CPAP's decision to start blasting me while inhaling.
Hoping to find a fix for my CPAP's decision to start blasting me while inhaling.
Philips Dreamstation 1. 

It has a recall on it which I just found about while researching this issue. I don't think the issue is related though, but in any case, I've initiatedd the proces to get a new one. But it apparently could take months, so I'm left with this issue in the meantime.

I've been using this machine for three years without a single issue. But about a week ago, in the middle of the night, it started BLASTING air into me during inhalation. Then on exhalation, it would change pressure so steeply and suddenly it almost felt like it was applying active suction. (Just describing the feeling, not claiming that was literally happening!)

It made it uncomfortable to the point of being impossible to use.

I checked all the settings, they were the same as they had always been. I went ahead and turned "c-flex" off, though (the feature that has it do a different pressure level for inhaling vs exhaling) and this seemed to fix the problem, and I learned I actually preferred c-flex off anyway.

Anyway it fixed the problem. For One Night.

The next night, in the middle of the night, it started doing the very same BLASTING behavior. C-flex was still turned off.

Even if I set the presssure lower than would be useful for me, minimizing it for example, it was STILL feeling too strong on inhale to be usable.
So right now I can't use it, unless I can find a fix or workaround. Have you experienced a similar issue? Any idea if there's anything fixable by me that could be causing it?

Mask fits perfectly, I can't detect any leaks.