Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Custom-Fitted Masks?
Custom-Fitted Masks?
Hi.  I'm a newbie to this board.  I'm writing for my mother who is 91 and partially paralyzed from a stroke.

Does anybody make custom-fitted CPAP masks?  We have tried many existing masks and none seem to fit my mother's (aged, gaunt, sensitive) face well.  Either they leak or they are too tight.  Does anybody make a mask that is custom-fitted, perhaps using scan and 3D printing technology?

Any thoughts, leads, links, responses appreciated--including "No such masks do not exist."

Thanks,

Tony

ps. I apologize if this topic has been covered before.  A quick search of the site disclosed no entries on this topic in the last few years.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Custom-Fitted Masks?
Bleep is probably the closest you can get to fitted. That is if you can control mouth leaks.
Post Reply Post Reply
Sorry to hear about your mother's dilemma.  I have possibly looked at over 250 masks (or just about every one that is online).  One that comes to mind here in your mother's specific situation is the Fisher and Paykel Forma (full face mask).  The Bleep could work like grubsztyl said.  This one has a very large space at the bottom of the mask that goes underneath the chin.  I don't know how well it even works (or stops leaks).  If you want to, do an internet search on this one and see if you think it might help your mother.  You know your mother's situation best, so this mask may not work at all.  I hope that you find success.
Download OSCAR
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Files

Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.