Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Advice on setting pressure limits
Advice on setting pressure limits
I'm new to CPAP treatment; started last week. I woke up numerous times my first few nights but typically do not at all. My pre-treatment in-home test gave AHI of 21 and these first few nights were around AHI 1.4-5.6, suggesting successful treatment, but I didn't feel that great. I got curious, found OSCAR, installed an SD card and now I'm starting to tweak settings.

The machine was given to me with autoset 4-18, EPR 2. On Sep 21 there's quite a few events not flagged because they're not long enough, but they're pretty clearly happening. I'm not sure if the CAs are true or if they're just "incomplete obstructions" flagged as CAs. There's a pretty constant stream of flow limitations that night. I suspect the very frequent pressure changes are waking me up and question their effectiveness. I find it difficult to get back to sleep when pressure is at the low end. Getting back to sleep when pressures are 10-12 has been, perhaps strangely, comforting.

Borrowing advice from other threads I've disabled ramp, turned EPR off and increased min pressure to 7.  Last night was pretty good. I slept well, was up out of bed only one time, and felt pretty good today. (Also starting to get mask leaks under control. I have a beard so some leak is probably inevitable.) Planning to leave settings as is for at least a few nights, but suspect I'll want to bump the min pressure up a little more to 8 or 9.

I'm looking for a little feedback on my data, advice on setting pressure limits and perhaps a little encouragement.
Thanks

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Advice on setting pressure limits