Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

User for 3 Months, OSCAR Chart Analysis Request
User for 3 Months, OSCAR Chart Analysis Request
Hi everyone,

I've been using my CPAP for 3 months now and found my way here from the sleep apnea subreddit. I'm not able to adjust any of my CPAP settings but my 90 day follow-up is soon so I'm hoping to argue my case.

My sleep and wakefulness  have only mildly improved since CPAP therapy started, and I've been prescribed modafinil to help me get through the work week without daytime drowsiness or naps. The medication seems to be mostly effective but I don't see that as a viable long-term solution. I've attached my chart from last night - thanks for the help!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: User for 3 Months, OSCAR Chart Analysis Request
Who says you can’t adjust your sleep settings? All most docs and DME are going to care about is your AHI number and compliance. This is considered “successful treatment”. If your Oscar charts look better at your settings than theirs, they’d hardly have anything to complain about.

Too bad the docs in your case have prescribed a medication instead of finessing the CPAP settings. Is it your impression they are skilled at sleep issues?

I’m sure someone will be along to help with settings. They don’t look on target the way they are, and may be making you uncomfortable.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: User for 3 Months, OSCAR Chart Analysis Request
HalfAsleep's observations are quite correct. 

You cannot rely on these people, who focus simply on AHI and observance. 

Looking at the graph, you have primarily central apneas that seem to be causing your discomfort. 

I have three questions on this:-

1.  Do you have this situation of centrals every night, or is it just a one-off?