Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Mask noises are making me crazy
Gross 
Mask noises are making me crazy
I’m of age and have been a back sleeper my whole life. I’ve been using ASV pap machines since 2012 after being diagnosed with primary central apnea.  I’ve written to the forum several times over the years on various subjects and the responses I received have helped me out a lot. 

During my Pap years, I’ve been using a quattro air full face mask (I’m a mouth breather) with a quattro air fit 10 medium size cushion and a cloth liner.

Starting this year, August 21 actually, mask farts have started and I cannot figure out why. The cushion, frame and headstraps are all new, as of the end of July. I’ve tried strap adjustments, repositioning the cushion on my nose, new cloth liners every night and nothing seems to help. One night, mask farts started at 2:30 am and I just took off all the headgear and tried to sleep without it. 

Due to nasal congestion over the past few months, on May 1st, I saw an allergist and then an ENT a couple of times in August. I don’t know if this could be the cause of the mask farts problem or not.  I’ve also started experiencing ‘jaw drop’ a few nights. 

Would anyone have any ideas for me?

Thank you so much for your time.
Dreamless
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mask noises are making me crazy
Maybe the doctors advised an over the counter allergy pill, such as Allegra.? I use it more at the beginning of summer, and occasionally during the rest of summer. It seems to me that pap machines and allergies fight each other, so the pill helps. Otherwise, have you tried adjusting your pressures down a little. Sometimes a little experimentation with different pressures might just be the answer.
Post Reply Post Reply