Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

CPAP newbie / OSCAR / study feedback
CPAP newbie / OSCAR / study feedback
Hi all.  I’m a CPAP newbie looking for some guidance.

I’ve suffered with poor sleep quality for many years.  Over the past three years I've started to eat healthy, exercise, and I’ve become pretty fit.  Unfortunately my sleep problems have persisted despite those changes.

My most common symptom is that I’ll rocket awake at 3AM like I’ve just received a shot of adrenaline and then have a very difficult time falling back asleep.  If I do fall back asleep, it’s poor quality.  Sometimes it'll take me a couple of hours to settle back down, at which point I’ll realize I need to be up in another hour anyways to get the kids off to school and so won’t even bother.

I finally pushed for an in-lab sleep study which has led to a diagnosis of mild obstructive sleep apnea.  I had a CPAP prescribed (AirSense 11) which I picked up last week.

My follow-up appointment isn’t for another eight weeks.  I’d prefer to use guidance from these forums to iterate more quickly.

My initially prescribed settings on the CPAP were pressure 5-10cm, start 4cm, EPR 1, ramp Auto.  I noticed during my first week via the events GUI on the device that the large majority of my events were CA events.  My in-lab sleep study from 2/19/24 had showed a perfect 50/50 split of 21 central apneas and 21 obstructive hypopneas.  For reference I’ve also attached the screenshots from the in-lab study.