Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Major issues transitioning from full face to nasal pillow mask
Arrow 
Major issues transitioning from full face to nasal pillow mask
Hello all, I've been using cpap for around 6 months now with positive results. When I started, I used a nasal pillow mask, but because I didn't know how to deal with mouth breathing at the time, I quickly switched to an f20 airtouch. I’m now hoping to move away from the full face mask due to issues with comfort and the desire for a more minimal set up in the long term, but I’m struggling to get nasal masks to work for me for reasons I don’t fully understand. 

In my last experiment, I used the bleep dreamports coupled with mouth tape. My experience was better than my initial trial with the p10s, but I still got poor quality sleep. My AHI was significantly higher than normal (about 4 compared to 1.3 with f20) and I woke up feeling exhausted to the point that I found it hard to maintain the trial for more than a few days. Subjectively, I feel like I struggle to get enough air while falling asleep with the nasal mask, and am wondering if I may have an anatomical issue with my nose or whether I just need to push through for a few weeks to adjust to the new mask. My minute vent is a little over 5 compared to the usual 6 I get with my full face mask, which seems to confirm my subjective experience.

Has anyone had any similar experience or have any advice to offer? I haven't been able to find too many similar cases; in fact in my research I mostly found people saying that their AHI improved when switching from FFM to nasal pillows. I've attached a picture of a night with the dreamports as well as an average night with a FFM for more context.

Post Reply Post Reply