Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Is My Doctor Taking Me For A Ride?
Is My Doctor Taking Me For A Ride?
Good Afternoon All,

I've been using CPAP for a few months now. It's definitely helped with my OA's, but I still struggle with CA's and either Periodic Breathing or CSR's (I'm 28 years old, in decent shape, and have no history of heart issues so PB's seem more likely). 

I spoke to my sleep doctor about this, and they got me in for a titration study last week with the intent of determining if BiPap is going to be better suited for me. My question is this: Would ASV make more sense, and are they trying to milk me for more money with their current methodology? Both the doctor and the tech told me that I wouldn't be eligible for ASV until they've ruled out if BiPap will improve my sleep. I was told that to be eligible for ASV, an additional titration study would be required as the one I did last week was purely for BiPap and BiPap ST. 

Is this standard procedure? I would think that the study for BiPap should also be able to indicate if ASV is a better fit for me, and I'm concerned they have this model in place in order to make more money off of patients. If this isn't standard and my suspicions are correct, does anyone have any advice for how I can skip over BiPap and go straight to ASV without going completely outside of insurance? Money is a little tight now and I'd like to be as efficient as possible with my spending if possible. If this is the normal procedure though, I will stay the course.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Is My Doctor Taking Me For A Ride?