Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New to forum
New to forum
I'm new to this forum but have used forums on other subject in the past, Auto owners, Seniors Living, etc. I've found that forums are very useful in finding information and conversing with others of similar interest. I'm starting my experience with the Inspire Sleep implanted device. At first I thought the introduction and screening process was a little over the top, but the more I learned I certainly realize it is necessary in making a decision of this gravity, it's costly and very invasive.

A little background related to me. I'm a totally disabled Vietnam vet with several disabilities specifically related to sleep apnea and service connected. I was resistive to treatment for sleep apnea mainly because I didn't understand how life threatening it really is. To be honest I had adopted an attitude that is was a way for DME manufactures to enhance sales. Boy have I learned how wrong those beliefs were and are.

In my case the Inspire device was implanted on Thursday and this is now Sunday. Thursday day night my sleep was very sporadic and I accepted that as part of the post op reaction of anesthesia and discomfort normal to surgery in general. Friday was a day of just trying to follow the defined post op guidelines provided by my health care team. During the night Friday I really had a horrible experience. Not only was I not sleeping, but I was in terrible pain. I'm not one to get real anxious when I encounter such events. Since I literally could not move I thought through my situation. My incisions were tender but that wasn't where my great pain came from. It was in my back, frontal torso and legs.