Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

OSCAR Data Review
OSCAR Data Review
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here, I hope that I am posting my chart data correctly. This is the first nights data from my machine. I know it may be too early to give some input but I was wondering if anyone could look at this and give me some advice on what you see. 

Thanks!
Steve

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: OSCAR Data Review
It would help us to learn your CA score in your sleep report.

Much will change in the coming months,  but you might want to try the following settings:
Standard response
EPR=1 full time 
Pressure min/max = 8/14 cm.
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome. If you could post some zoomed in screenshots of the periods where the apneas are being tagged it would help a lot.

Those appear to be some pretty severe centrals. As opposed to obstructive apneas and hypopneas where your airway is being physically blocked off by tissue in your throat/airway, central apneas occur when your body is literally not trying to breathe at all, or barely trying to breathe. This can happen for many reasons, but it's not that uncommon for new users of CPAP to experience something like this. It is commonly called TECSA (treatment emergent central sleep apnea). 

One of the reasons this can happen is because CPAP has a slight ventilatory effect, meaning it changes the CO2/O2 balance within your body, and causes you to breathe out more CO2 at any given time. It is the buildup of CO2 within our bodies that trigger the drive to breathe, and if more of it is being expelled the drive can go away for a period of time, where you stop breathing completely. Also called central apneas.