Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Transition from CPAP to BiPap
Transition from CPAP to BiPap
Hello guys.
I've been using CPAP for about 6 months now ( resmed airsense 10). My numbers are very good and I'm overall happy with my therapy BUT: I wake up around 5 am. almost every night, which is not good because I don't feel rested after 6 hours of sleep. Then I go back to sleep for another 2 hours and wake up at 7am. It's not caused by urge to go to the bathroom or anything like that. My sleep doctor said that looking at my Oscar charts there is nothing he can see that causes my early wake ups. He also said that I might be a little sensitive to therapy and the bigger pressure relief might be a way to go (already using PS at 3).
The only way I can try that is using a Bipap. So I borrowed Resmed Vauto from my healthcare provider and hopes It's gonna come soon. And here is my question. How do I set up this machine? Generally I get what it is and how it works but I need some guidance to set up it proper way.
Since I use auto mode already, I would like to use it in Vauto mode with PS at 4. So I guess I have to start with min. epap 4 max. Ipap 11 and PS 4? What about other weird stuff like Ti min, max, etc.?
Below I'm posting few Oscar charts. Sorry for my broken english, I hope you will understand what I'm trying to say Smile thank you for your help guys.

Here are my current Airsense 10 settings:
Mode: Auto
Pressure: 7.4-11
PS: 3
Mask: Philips Full Face

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Transition from CPAP to BiPap
You do have quite a few arousals, which may account for the general tiredness. I assume your GP has done a blood workup already and nothing showed up, but if not it would be worthwhile just to be sure you are right as rain.