Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Understanding events and waveforms with OSCAR
Understanding events and waveforms with OSCAR
I just downloaded OSCAR and I am trying to work my way around it after telling my DME (or equivalent in Australia) that I just don't trust the numbers on the machine for AHI. After a year on CPAP I did an in lab sleep study half with no cpap half with cpap, but I don't think it was so representative of my normal sleeping.

I am wondering what these 7 non-labeled events (and one where the labeling seems off)  might be, they certainly look like disordered breathing to me. I have little experience with CPAP data, but I am a bioinformatican and have worked with biological time series data before.

Should these have been picked up by the device, and if not by the device then the User Flagged events? I made the UF1 and UF2 to have 4 second rather than 8 second periods to try to capture more events (at the risk of higher false positive).

Most of the UF1 and UF2 flags look like they are clearly something. Some are next to a cluster of machine recognized events, and some are around high leak areas, but I think it is quite clear to me that the AHI from the machine is an under estimate

The pressure is so high because I was sick and had a blocked nose. I need to keep track of which night I am using which mask to know if leaks are my full face mask coming off or me having my mouth open with a nasal mask.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Understanding events and waveforms with OSCAR
Looks to me like normal sleep breathing whilst moving around. You take a deeper breath and hold it, hence the cardiogenic oscillations whilst holding your breath, move around to a comfortable position, then back to sleep breathing.