Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Mouth Farts and Exhale Block
Question 
Mouth Farts and Exhale Block
This is my first post so thanks in advance for your reply's

My name is John and I have been using sleep therapy since the early 2000's. My current machine is the Resmed Air Curve 10s bi pap machine. I use MyAir and my current score is 55. There is a lot to unpack here so bear with me. 

So as I gained weight I started having difficulties sleeping more than 4-5 hours at a stretch. I am disabled and have been off work for about four years now. I developed a blockage on the exhale that frequently wakes me up. I have mouth leaks that dries up my mouth so I started using tape but that isn't helping me sleep for long and I wake up almost in a panic attack. I use the Resmed Comfort Gel and lately I have been getting zits or aggrivated hairs under my nose that get very painful when trying to sleep. I tried to make the move to the F&P Vitera but when switching from nasal to full face on my machine I developed issues with the machine shutting off and it pushed so much air through the mask it leaked. My medicare wont pay for much and I cannot afford to keep trying new masks so I am kind of stuck here. Usually I wake up after about four to five hours, get up and have coffee and have some computer time then try to go back to bed and sleep another three hours or so. I watch tv and fall asleep in my chair but my snoring keeps me in a wakened fog for about an hour or so then I watch tv for a few hours more and go to bed. Rinse, lather and repeat. 

This is affecting me health wise and it feels like I am sleepwalking through my days so any advice would be helpful

Thanks
John
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mouth Farts and Exhale Block
Welcome John.