Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New User! Help Needed! Horrible Sinus Headaches.
New User! Help Needed! Horrible Sinus Headaches.
Hello everyone,

I'm new to CPAP therapy and could really use some guidance. I was diagnosed with sleep apnea (AHI 13.3, RDI 18.2) through a Lofta sleep study and started treatment 12 nights ago with an AirSense 11 and a P10 nasal pillow mask.

The Good:
MyAir results are positive (good seal, low events per hour).
  • The mask stays on well.
  • I'm sleeping through the night for the most part, but I just don't know if my quality of sleep is good. 
  • I feel less tired overall I think, but the sinus issues and headaches make it hard to know. 
The Bad:
  • I'm experiencing terrible sinus pressure and headaches.
  • I have difficulty focusing and thinking clearly and feel awful even though I am getting good scores.
What I've Tried:
  • Nasal irrigation before bed
  • Flonase
  • Xclear before sleep and during the day
  • Hose temp at 80 degrees with humidity level 5
  • Hose cover
  • Washing hoses every three days
  • Constant pressure of 6 cmH2O (originally set to auto-adjust between 4-20 cmH2O)
I'm concerned that the nasal pillows are contributing to my sinus issues, but I'm hesitant to switch masks since this one feels comfortable. Could the pressure setting be too low? I've ordered an SD card to track my data with Oscar, hoping that will provide more insights.

I'm determined to make CPAP therapy work, but the sinus problems are making it difficult. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New User! Help Needed! Horrible Sinus Headaches.
Welcome to the forum.