Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Large leak rate, what am I doing wrong?
Large leak rate, what am I doing wrong?
Hey everyone! Thanks again for such an amazing source of information. I've been utilizing the heck out of this forum since beginning the process of being diagnosed with severe central SA, AHI 67.
I received my Apap (resmed 11) a week ago after trying to get the more appropriate ASV device to no avail. 
I'm a nurse and trying to dial in my numbers to as best I can using the OSCAR date, but they're all over the place. 

Can you help give me suggestions on what I can adjust to help these number?
June 29th, no taping.
June 30th, first night of taping
July 1st, still taping

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Large leak rate, what am I doing wrong?
Hey Jspiv, it might help if you post which mask you're using, but here's the Holy Book for mask fitting: https://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php/Mask_Primer
Post Reply Post Reply
(07-02-2024, 11:48 AM)Jspiv Wrote: Can you help give me suggestions on what I can adjust to help these number?
I trust July 1st is just a temporary discrepancy. 
Your June 30th was quite good. I suggest increasing the minimum pressure to 8 cm to reduce OAs and setting EPR=1 to reduce CAs (mainly because you have a severe CA diagnosis). It would be best to consider purchasing a soft cervical collar and CPAP pillow. Also, and sleeping on your side. Keep taping.
Regarding leaks, you should experiment with different sleep positions and mask types/settings. It takes quite a while to find the optimal mask.
Post Reply Post Reply
Did your sleep study show lots of CAs? If you have it, it would be good if you would post a redacted copy of it here.
Machine:  ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto
Mask:  Bleep DreamPort Sleep Solution