Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

ResMed Aircurve 10 VAuto - What Settings To Use?
ResMed Aircurve 10 VAuto - What Settings To Use?
Starting Out - ResMed AirSense 10 - What Settings To Use?

Hello all! I am completely new to this. I am 31, been experiencing feeling a bit tired in the day and always waking up a bit tired too. I did a respiratory at home sleep study, which detected no obstructive sleep apnea (that is the only thing it screens for). It had an AHI of 3.8. Keep in mind this was a basic like $300 home sleep study, you set up yourself, with some near your nose, on your chest, and a watch. No brain scanning stuff. Basic, so it's not going to be super optimised data.

However I have all the symptoms of Upper Airways Resistance (UARS). I wake up quite tired no matter if I get 8-9 hours of sleep. I also have a severely deviated septum, and grade 2/3 large tonsils as diagnosed by my ENT. I also have some slight rhinitis (nasal congestion). However I can now sleep with breathe right nose strips and I believe just nose breathe while sleeping (but its not 100% perfect, it's like maybe 80%, but I can do it).

I have not had a full in-depth sleep study for a diagnosis of UARS because those private tests are too expensive, however my ENT agrees it's probably UARS.

I am looking to try to sort this out myself with a CPAP mask. I was planning to buy the ResMed AirSense 10 as my firstm achine after researching what will be best. However I have no one guiding me, and I have no clue about any of this stuff, and it's quite complicated.

My main two questions are:
1 - What type of mask is going to be best? Should I get a few? How do I know if it's going to be right for my face, the right fit?